Uncategorized

The Mentor, Mother, Friend

When I began University to become a teacher, one of my first classes asked us to write a paper on the person who inspired us to become teachers. This was so easy for me. The woman who inspired my career choice was a friend, a teacher, a mother like figure, and my mentor.

Geralynn is a person who I met when I was only a small child. My family moved in across the street from her. My mom and her became the best of friends and I became close friends with her youngest daughter who was only a year older than I was.

Over the years we moved away. We all stayed in touch. I stayed with them for a week over the summer, my friend stayed with us for a week. Then my parents got a divorce. I was 10. It wasn’t easy but Geralynn was there to support both my mom and I.

In upper elementary I joined the school choir. She was the director. I learned So much from them  and even joined the choir again when I began teaching myself.

Then I did work experience and came into her classroom daily and helped her, worked with the kids, and watched her teach. She was amazing. She had total control, the kids had fun and learned a lot. The classroom was always exciting. More and more I knew that I wanted to become a teacher just like her.

She guided me through my practicums and was there with my mom when I was sad, she helped me and comforted me. She was there at my wedding and after I had both of my children.

Most importantly, she has always been there for my mom and I. When we lost my grandma, she was there to lend a hand. To speak, to help plan, to give advice and to offer a shoulder to cry on. This woman is like my other mom, my friend and someone I can always look up to. She is my mentor and the best one I could have ever imagined.

Mentor</a

1 thought on “The Mentor, Mother, Friend”

Leave a comment